glucogon test

glucogon test

Postby MikeDCross » Sun Nov 26, 2017 2:05 pm

Hi

My consultant wants me to do a glucogon test; she did not explain what one is, why I would have one, or the benefit of having one.

Does anyone have experience with this test?

What is involved?

How long does it take

How much does it hurt -- I've not yet found a medical test which does not hurt ;-)

Thanks

Mike
Last edited by MikeDCross on Fri Jan 12, 2018 3:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MikeDCross

Re: Glycogen test

Postby steve » Mon Nov 27, 2017 1:14 pm

Hi Mike,
I have had a *glucogon* test, I've never heard of a glycogen test. There's a good explanation here:

http://www.gosh.nhs.uk/medical-informat ... cagon-test

As test's go it really wasn't too bad, half a day of lying in a hospital bed with an injection at the beginning.

Best of luck,
Steve
steve

Re: Glycogen test / glycogen test

Postby MikeDCross » Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:59 pm

Steve

I'm not technical, it could well be a glycogen test.

Thanks for the link, which gave 100% more info than my consultant did.

1/2 a day laying about sounds quite relaxing if a tad boring, Not so keen on the needles, I just dislike needles; but I will be brave :-)

Mike
MikeDCross

Re: glucogon test

Postby MikeDCross » Fri Jan 12, 2018 3:24 pm

today i had a glucogon test.

I was given a lifestyle questionnaire, which will be compared with the blood test results - the questions were a little strange and there the answer was YES or NO, there was no room for grey.

I was given a comfortable (for NHS) bed, a cannula was fitted in one arm, and an initial blood was taken; then they injected glucogon in my other arm and I was left for 90 mins to rest and read -- I had been given dire warnings to be prepared to vomit, feel ill or strange and I felt no ill effects of the injection. After 90 mins, they took bloods every 30 mins at 90,120,150; and it was done.

I have to wait 3-4 weeks for the results.