which blood tests

which blood tests

Postby MikeDCross » Sat May 21, 2016 2:28 pm

Hi,

I've been reviewing my blood test results for the last 2 years, and I was wondering why they keep changing what they are monitoring, and why they have never tested some hormone levels at all:

Adrenocorticotrophic hormone (ACTH) -- never checked
Thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH) - checked most times
Luteinising hormone (LH) - checked most times
Follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH) - checked most times
Prolactin (PRL) - checked most times
Growth hormone (GH) - never checked
Melanocyte-stimulating hormone (MSH) - checked most times
oxtocin - - checked most times

Are there reasons to only test some things, or should they all be tested to give an overall picture of pituitary health?
MikeDCross

Re: which blood tests

Postby MikeDCross » Fri Jun 03, 2016 5:31 pm

I saw my consultant today, she was unclear why I rarely had the same blood tests, and has promised to write to my GP with a set list, so I get the same tests every time, she did not volunteer the list during the appointment, I have to wait up to 6 weeks for the letter, which is fine I have no blood tests scheduled for over 6 weeks..
MikeDCross

Re: which blood tests

Postby buddyboy » Thu Aug 25, 2016 11:31 am

Hi 42045,
I guess the required tests will depend upon the nature of your particular condition and your sex. I am not sure why the tests should vary, but having an agreed set makes sense. I am male, 64 years, and have Hypopituitarism, and have problems with testosterone, thyroxine, growth hormone and cortisol levels, and take the relevant replacement therapy. So the tests I have (which seem to sometimes vary like you, depending upon GP, or one of many endo's I've seen) are focused on (and normally include):
Testosterone (not FSH as that is not functioning in my case)
Free Thyroxine FT4 (other thyroxine measures are not useful guides)
IGF1 Growth Hormone