Recovering from surgery

Recovering from surgery

Postby Jane62 » Fri Nov 28, 2014 6:49 pm

Hello everyone
I am new to the world of a pituitary problem.
My story is this. In September of this year I went to the doctors after suffering a severe headache for two weeks. I was told it was a migraine attack. Around a week later I went to the opticians as I noticed my eyes had become blurry. Had all the relevant optical tests done and this showed that my eyesight had changed by 0.50 In both eyes since the end of May this year.
I was referred to an ophthalmologist who did more tests and noticed that after a more extensive field Vision test that my field Vision In both eyes was pretty much non existent.
I was referred for an MRI and the ophthalmologist called me to say that I needed to see the endocrine team. It was there that I was told I had a tumour the size of a golf ball and that it would need surgery. I was put on Carbergoline as my prolactin levels were slightly raised but not to the extent of having a prolactinoma. Surgery was arranged at a different hospital and carried out successfully,
Whilst there I was put on hydrocortisone. I am not sure what type of pituitary condition I have yet as they are still doing tests.
On Monday I got a call from the endocrine team where the surgery was carried out to be told to stop taking the hydrocortisone which I duly did. This Wednesday I was so ill I ended up back in hospital on fluids and back on hydrocortisone.
How long does it take to find out what type of problem I have and what, if any further tests will I be expecting?
Jane
Jane62

Re: Recovering from surgery

Postby Carl » Sat Nov 29, 2014 2:31 pm